In Guadalajara´s countryside you might see this farm of Assaf sheeps that are milked every day. This milk is used in the elaboration of delicious and traditional cheeses.
Part of the philosophy of the organic production, respecting the EU standards 2092/91, is also to offer an alternative to vegetarians using natural non-animal rennet in the production of cheese. Really innovative, this process is the result of years of study, intents and quality control combined with the long tradition and know-how of these cheese-makers.
Many plants have coagulating properties. Enzymes from thistles or cardoons (cynara) are used in some traditional cheese productions in the Mediterranean, such as in Castellón. This vegetable rennet is totally suitable for vegetarians.
The Serrano chesse presents the cylindrical original shape, which is obtained during the maturation. Its flavor is a bouquet of aromas and its paste is homogeneous with few holes.